Updates 101

There’s not much about me lately. A law student’s life is utterly boring, except for the daily harshness of the rigors of the academe. There are those who are gifted with the talent of juggling work life, love life and academe life, I on the other hand isn’t lucky enough to get those three except the last. I know I know, it’s boring and pasty, but it needs a little getting used to.

*********************

Valentine’s day was fine. Okay, it was so-so. I received flowers from Nor and Naiza, law school friends. It was a rainy night so I have to go home early. I watched Glee’s latest episode after drying up, then Cham texted to invite me to a group date at Coco’s South Bistro with Brian, Shajani, Tateen and Tine. We ordered so much we can’t push all the things we ordered to our tummy. Ending? Take out boxes. The rest of the night was spent watching a Thai movie “Crazy little thing called love” in my bed.

*********************

Love life? Let me rate it from zero to negative infinity. I do have a crush, yes, but the chances of even a little reciprocation is nearer to never. I allowed a friend to tell a crush about my feelings, but alas, things just got even awkward. Strict policy starting now, no more telling about feelings, lest I want to be creepy.

*********************

My family just recently acquired a fish pond in Punta Biao. Mama’s been putting down of our savings to start with the investment. She phones me about the price of feeds, maintenance, down to employee relations. Papa has to stay offshore almost everyday after office hours to take a look at the site. And recently we also had to cancel the family trip to Cebu to give way to this. So whenever I run out of money for school and living expenses, there’s always that holding back to ask too much. I understand it has to be that hard now since things are a little bit shaky. I do hope the recovery of investment will make it all worthwhile.

*********************

I am thinking about closing down my Twitter account. It’s been causing me too much of a distraction. I end up staying a little bit more than I have intended for a single night. Sometimes it’s a time-wasting device that deprives me of the much needed hours for studying and sleeping. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy socializing with people I wouldn’t even talk to in real life but would love to tweet with. It’s just that, I have different priorities now, especially that Finals week is just days away.

*********************

Today is my midterms examination for Negotiable Instruments. Last week I had to catch up on doing typing jobs and digesting cases while studying for another exam (Social Legislation). Why? I have to do a reviewer, which I promised myself as a personal devotion. My Nego teacher, during her law school days, has always been an angel with making notes and digests of almost everything under the sun. It occurred to me, that if the tradition of making notes stopped with her, then it’s just a dead tradition of leeching notes. And the law, as they say, is a dynamic creature, we students need to be updated with the latest jurisprudence and enactments. Coming up with a 37-paged notes wasn’t a breeze. Nevertheless it gave me a lot of blessings. Good karma begets good karma. I received a lot of thank-you’s from my classmates. I’m also confident with the upcoming exams, as I treaded down on every full text to make sure I don’t miss anything in my notes. Whenever I’m typing, I also try to memorize what I write. It’s a total time-saver. Students should try making their own notes, too. 🙂

Leave a comment