Single’s plague

It’s been five years since my last relationship. Five years and counting. Though most of the time I’m not complaining, as friends with relationships who text me in the middle of the night about boyfriend issues bother me, I found it embedded in my system to consider the no-relationship stage a perk and a privilege.

It has come to test, matters which I thought I believe in and I thought I was happy with will strike as odd and somewhat absurd.

Last month, Martin was unleashing the inner manghuhula in himself as he sets out with the prediction that my next boyfriend’s name will be Leo. I laughed it off. Leo? Wow that’s 1970s and too brusque for a name.

Boy, how heavens love to play on mortals when they permit.

I met Leo last night.

It started out that we met in cyberspace in Grindr, then we were texting. I didn’t find it odd that he might be looking for just a booty call, well. After almost a month of me playing hard to get, I finally decided to go meet him last night.

We swung by Ice Giants to buy some strawberry sundae and then drove all the way to Matina to see the Davao Baywalk. Sea, stars, a good Saturday night and bunch of youngsters playing guitars by the bay while drinking.

It was my first date after five years.

I was quite surprised with the man. He spoke well. He was very well-mannered. He was “the sensitive” and the feelings-person. We talked about movies, music, food and everything between intellectual things and mischief. He’s a funny guy and I was starting to like this man, though I don’t usually realize that on the first date.

But then again, I have to dismiss whatever minute feelings outright right there and then. It would be a travesty of logic to fall for a man who’s leaving Davao to return from his month-long vacation.

When my friend Monique asked me how the date went, I said it was fun. Cheap one liners to hide that I really regretted giving myself a chance to see what good there is to dating again only to find out that I don’t have a chance with it. Cheap one liners in reply to Leo’s text saying I enjoyed the night, half wishing there be another night or two to spend with. Cheap one liners in post-its reminding myself to focus with law school first and after that, everything will fall into place, including matters of the heart.

They say good things happen to those who wait. They say that there’s someone out there who’s right for you. They say what will come will come and you will meet it when it did. They say that.

I say to myself, well, nice try. 🙂

One thought on “Single’s plague

  1. I really enjoyed your post because I found that I could really relate to it. I am also single, and have been so for most of the years that have passed since I reached the age where people usually begin dating.

    I used to always think that being single was such a tragedy, but after a failed relationship that really traumitized me, I have now reached the point where I am content with being single. It really is not as horrific as everybody makes it out to be. It’s actually quite liberating. I mean, granted, I do get lonely and desire comanionship sometimes, but in the long run, being single has allowed me to focus on myself, which was something that I really needed to do,.

    But I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your date. I am sorry that he will be leaving soon…But I really do admire you for being realistic and not getting to caught up in the whole fantasy of love. You are sure to think and be logical when entering the pool of dating, and that is so admirable! As someone who is gradually beginning to learn how to do that, you serve as a great role model to me!

Leave a comment